domingo, 17 de abril de 2016

martes, 2 de febrero de 2016

The 100 best novels written in English

Every week for the last two years, The Guardian has been publishing an entry of their 100 best novels written in English. The full list is now complete and has just been released. The list is arranged in chronological order and is restricted to one novel of each author deemed worthy of being included. It has been criticised because of the absence of many women writers, among other things.

Take a look at the list and see which you would read this year.

A similar list was published back in 2003 of the 100 best novels of all time, topped by none other than Don Quixote!

domingo, 3 de enero de 2016

Bad news for fans of 'A Song of Ice and Fire'

The new year starts with bad news for the millions of fans waiting for the next book in the 'Game of Thrones' saga. Author George R R Martin announced that 'The Winds of Winter' will not be published early in 2016, as was planned. That means that the TV show will get ahead of the novels.

"You're disappointed, and you're not alone. My editors and publishers are disappointed, HBO is disappointed, my agents and foreign publishers and translators are disappointed," Martin writes, "but no one could possibly be more disappointed than me."

How long will you test our patience, Mr Martin?

Follow this link to learn more.

lunes, 26 de octubre de 2015

Kafka's 'Metamorphosis' turns 100

Franz Kafka's 'The Metamorphosis' turns 100 this year.

Read about it in The Guardian.

You can hear Benedict Cumberbatch read the novella for the BBC.

You can also download it in different ebook formats from Project Gutenberg.

Happy centennial!

miércoles, 21 de octubre de 2015

Shakespeare & Company Bookstore in Paris

With a cameo appearance in Woody Allen's Midnight in Paris and Richard Linklater's Before Sunset, Shakespeare and Company is arguably the most iconic bookshop in the French capital. The building, a 17th century ex-monastery has become a landmark in the 5th arrondissement. Apart from being a bookstore, it also serves as a haven where aspiring writers can stay for free - Allen Ginsberg and Anaïs Nin have both been guests in the past. Originally established in 1919 by an American called Sylvia Beach, fellow expatriate George Whitman took over Shakespeare and Company after Beach's death in 1951. meets with Whitman's daughter, Sylvia to hear about the future of this historical, literary gem. 
[from the YouTube info on the video]