lunes, 5 de diciembre de 2016

sábado, 29 de octubre de 2016

Watch 52,000 books reshelved in two minutes

Two years ago New York's Library iconic Rose Reading Room was closed down for renovations. Early this month it reopened in all its splendor. The room has a colossal size, measuring 23 by 90 metres; the ceiling is 15 metres high. This famous landmark has featured in many films and TV shows. This timelapse video shows the process of returning the books to the shelves prior to reopening.



domingo, 17 de abril de 2016

martes, 2 de febrero de 2016

The 100 best novels written in English

Every week for the last two years, The Guardian has been publishing an entry of their 100 best novels written in English. The full list is now complete and has just been released. The list is arranged in chronological order and is restricted to one novel of each author deemed worthy of being included. It has been criticised because of the absence of many women writers, among other things.

Take a look at the list and see which you would read this year.



A similar list was published back in 2003 of the 100 best novels of all time, topped by none other than Don Quixote!

domingo, 3 de enero de 2016

Bad news for fans of 'A Song of Ice and Fire'


The new year starts with bad news for the millions of fans waiting for the next book in the 'Game of Thrones' saga. Author George R R Martin announced that 'The Winds of Winter' will not be published early in 2016, as was planned. That means that the TV show will get ahead of the novels.

"You're disappointed, and you're not alone. My editors and publishers are disappointed, HBO is disappointed, my agents and foreign publishers and translators are disappointed," Martin writes, "but no one could possibly be more disappointed than me."

How long will you test our patience, Mr Martin?

Follow this link to learn more.